Dreaming of February

I have one very exciting trip coming up to South Korea to climb some ice.  Yes, that’s right, you heard South Korea and ice used in the same sentence.  There IS ice in South Korea.  And lots of it.  From December to mid/end of February the arctic Siberian winds blow down from Russia bring super cold temps to the Koran peninsula.  South Koreans it turns out are so wild and crazy about ice they built the tallest indoor ice climbing facility in the WORLD so they can climb ice all year round.

Cheong Song, Pohang. Photo by Tony Petro.

Part of my intent in traveling to South Korea is to investigate their ice, their climbing, culture and share what I find here on IceBella and my women’s alpinism magazine, Vertical Woman. I’ll scope it out for all my fellow ice climbers out there and let you know what the real scoop on South Korean ice is.

Ice climbed before in South Korea?  Drop me a line at gshathaway@gmail.com.  I’d love to hear about your experience or recs on where to climb.  Favorite, off-the-beaten path sites to see in South Korea (I will also be exploring the country while I’m there) or travel tips for traveling in South Korea – I’d love to hear about them!

~ by Genevieve Hathaway on December 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
